Yes, I’m back!

Oh my, oh my, oh my. It’s been soooooooooo long since my last post, which makes me realise how long it was since the last time I did any sport-related activities.

But I am back. With new motivation and a new plan.

I know I’m incredibly late with this but THANK YOU SOOOOO MUCH to all of you who voted for me last winter. I’m glad I could share this tale of a virgin athlete with you and that you found it interesting/inspirational/good enough to vote for me. So THANK YOU again!!

As I said, I’m back. Because I need to shed some pounds and because I don’t like the lumpy, lazy person I’ve become (again) over the past year. My fault, I’m the only one to blame. Yes, I was supposed to do all these races and even my first triathlon in July. But that didn’t happen. Lumpy lazy me decided not to go because lumpy lazy me didn’t train whatsoever since the middle of the winter.

To help with my fresh start, I signed up with a new gym. It’s actually brand new and it fits my needs much better than the old one in so many ways: more machines (no more waiting), more spinning classes (at times when I can actually go, too!), closer to my house (no more excuse that it’s far from home), much cheaper (€15 euros per month in my pockets) and the people working there are great. I don’t feel like a number when I go there, I actually feel like I’m part of a big family. I’ve opted for the extra coaching service and so far I’m not regretting it.

I told my coach that I want to do a sprint triathlon next summer. He didn’t laugh at me, to the contrary. I think he enjoyed the fact that I had a specific goal in mind, other than classics like ‘getting back in shape and lose some weight’ like everybody else. His eyes really lit up when I mentioned what I wanted to achieve! Finally, he could have some fun and create a real custom program! 😉 Of course I want to get back in shape and lose some weight. But my goal, what I want to train for the coming months, is to do a triathlon. My training program is specifically aimed at this. It’s my responsibility to make sure I get back to running,  start swimming (I’m thinking of taking a few lessons this fall/winter, just to get proper technique) and keep on cycling/spinning, but at least now I have some help from a cool guy who wants me to succeed. Yes, he’s being paid to encourage me. But there’s nothing like a ‘Good work today, MC!’ at the end of a training to keep you going…

And I’ve started a new diet, too. I love Wei.ght Watch.ers and it has always worked great for me, but I needed something new. I realised along the way that I need more guidance. I’ve found a great book/method and I’ve lost close to 4 kg in just 3 weeks by following their planned menus. More on this new diet here: http://sveltissime.blogspot.com/ (Yes, it’s in French. Sorry.)

Weather permitting, I will hop on my bike and cycle to work tomorrow. I’m not getting back to running just yet, I need to lose some weight first. But if things go the way they’ve been going the last weeks, I should be able to start running in October. Can’t wait! I promised a friend (you know who you are!) to run the 20 km of Brussels in 2010. There’s probably going to be a lot of walking, but it’s a fun challenge to aim at.

To be continued…

2 thoughts on “Yes, I’m back!

Leave a Reply

