Bypass challenges for sporty people

I’ve been a very good girl lately! I’ve been to the gym – enthusiastically! – and I’ve enjoyed 2 trainings with my personal trainer so far. It’s so much fun. My muscles are aching and I can barely lift my arms above my head after a session, but no pain, no gain, right?

The first personal training session started with a bang. I was pushed to my limits. So much that at one point, I had to sit down because my heart rate was plunging and I was feeling extremely dizzy and light-headed. Yep, I was crashing. I absolutely didn’t see it coming and it took me by surprise. I thought I had eaten enough and I made sure I drank plenty of fluids during the day. But juggling a small stomach pouch with limited absorption capacity, along with my new physiological incapacity to digest sugars and fats, with high-intensity sports activities… wow, that’s a challenge.

I did a bit of research on the internet and there are only a few scientific studies about nutrition and endurance sports after gastric by-pass. Patients who had bariatric surgery and practice endurance sports must be careful with commercially available sports drinks, gels and bars. Sugar is the biggest issue. It’s a bit of trial and error – some preparations might not cause any discomfort for certain persons, but trigger dumping for others. Same goes for protein powders. After some reading, I came up with my own recipe for a sports drink, which doesn’t contain as much sugar as regular sports drink, but just enough to give me a little bit of energy without causing me any discomfort:

– Water
– 2-3 tablespoons of concentrated fruit syrup (like this one)
– 1/2 teaspoon of salt

I’ve been drinking this mix for a couple of weeks now at the gym and so far so good 🙂 I even survived the 2nd personal training session a couple of days ago – and trust me, it was intense. But I didn’t crash!

On the running side of things, I was amazed at being able to run 4 minutes today. It seems it was just yesterday that 1 minute felt like eternity! Here’s what the trainings look like for this week:

2/2, 2/2, 4/3, 3/3, 3/3 (bold= running, standard = walking)

I treated myself to a new pair of running shoes, my old pair was… well… old. They were not absorbing shocks as much as they used to (5 years ago!) and I just wanted to make sure I was still a neutral runner by letting the guys at the shop analyze my running. Aren’t thy precious in pink and purple? 😉

473479_10151222131252585_11850524_o

That’s it for now, folks! Time to go nurse my sore muscles 😉

Leave a Reply

